The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Thorium Energy was established in February 2012 by a cross-party group of MPs and Peers as a forum for the discussion of thorium as a nuclear fuel, and the reactor technologies in which thorium can be used.


Chair: Lord Lucas (Conservative)
Vice-Chair: Julian Huppert MP (Liberal Democrat)
Treasurer: Viscount Hanworth (Labour)
Secretary: Lord Jay of Ewelme (Crossbench)

Qualifying Members

Lord Clark of Windermere (Labour)
Mike Crockart MP (Liberal Democrat)
Sir Tony Cunningham MP (Labour)
Lord Deben (Conservative)
Barry Gardiner MP (Labour)
Lord Grantchester (Labour)
Lord Haworth (Labour)
John Hemming MP (Liberal Democrat)
Lord Jay of Ewelme (Crossbench)
Lord O’Neill of Clackmannan (Labour)
Lord Oxburgh (Crossbench)
Lord Stoddart (Independent Labour)
Lord Taverne (Liberal Democrat)
Lord Teverson (Liberal Democrat)
Heather Wheeler MP (Conservative)
Simon Wright MP (Liberal Democrat)
Tim Yeo MP (Conservative)

The group’s secretariat is provided by The Alvin Weinberg Foundation